All you need are 5 ingredients to make this Vegan Clear Pumpkin Pie.
Agar Agar powder is used instead of gelatin, and Pumpkin Spice extract makes this a fun and easy project for any home cook.
DISCLAIMER: The original ‘Clear Pumpkin Pie’ is in fact crystal clear due to the fact that gelatin is used as the gelling agent; it must be noted that molecular gastronomy chefs admit that Agar Agar will never set as clear as gelatin, but is the next suitable option for vegans and vegetarians alike. Because of the way that Agar Agar traps air, light may have a harder time passing through it, therefore serve the pie in thinner than usual slices to achieve the best effect.
If you’ve been online these past few weeks, you may have noticed the fever pitch that is the Clear Pumpkin Pie. Now I consider myself a traditionalist, but there is something so captivating and oddly satisfying about looking at a clear dessert that tastes like it doesn’t look and looks like it doesn’t taste.